FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS $25+ (US only)
  • 0 ($0.00)
A Cry from the Dust

A Cry from the Dust

Regular price
$15.99
Sale price
$15.99
Quantity must be 1 or more

Product Description

“Parks, in her debut novel, has clearly done her research and never disappoints when it comes to crisp dialogue, characterization, or surprising twists and turns.” —Publishers Weekly

A 19th-century conspiracy is about to be shattered by a 21st-century forensic artist.

In 1857, a wagon train in Utah was assaulted by a group of militant Mormons calling themselves the Avenging Angels. One hundred and forty people were murdered, including unarmed men, women, and children. The Mountain Meadows Massacre remains controversial to this day—but the truth may be written on the skulls of the victims.

When renowned forensic artist Gwen Marcey is recruited to reconstruct the faces of recently unearthed victims at Mountain Meadows, she isn’t expecting more than an interesting gig . . . and a break from her own hectic life.

But when Gwen stumbles on the ritualized murder of a young college student, her work on the massacre takes on a terrifying new aspect, and research quickly becomes a race against modern-day fundamentalist terror.

As evidence of a cover-up mounts—a cover-up spanning the entire history of the Mormon church—Gwen finds herself in the crosshairs of a secret society bent on fulfilling prophecy and revenging old wrongs.

Can a forensic artist reconstruct two centuries of suppressed history . . . before it repeats itself?

In A Cry from the Dust, Carrie Stuart Parks utilizes her own background as a celebrated, FBI-trained forensic artist to blend fact and fiction into a stunning mystery.

“Parks’ fast-paced and suspenseful debut novel is an entertaining addition to the inspirational genre. Her writing is polished, and the research behind the novel brings credibility to the story . . . An excellent book that is sure to put Carrie Stuart Parks on readers’ radar.” —RT Book Reviews, 4 stars

“Besides having a resourceful and likeable heroine, the book also features that rarest of characters: a villain you don’t see coming, but whom you hate with relish . . . A Cry from the Dust will keep you hoping, praying and guessing till the end.” —BookPage

“Renowned forensic artist Parks’s action-packed and compelling tale of suspense is haunting in its intensity. Well researched and written in an almost journalistic style, this emotionally charged story is recommended for fans of Ted Dekker, Mary Higgins Clark, and historical suspense.” —Library Journal

“Parks’s real-life career as a forensic artist lends remarkable authenticity to her enthralling novel, A Cry from the Dust. Her work is a fresh new voice in suspense, and I became an instant fan. Highly recommended!” —Colleen Coble, USA TODAY bestselling author of the Hope Beach Series and The View from Rainshadow Bay

Additional Information

  • Contributor(s)Carrie Stuart Parks
  • About the Contributor(s) Carrie Stuart Parks

    Carrie Stuart Parks is an ECPA Christy Award and multiple ACFW Carol and Inspy Award–winning author. An internationally known forensic artist, Carrie draws on her extensive experience with actual criminal investigations to write authentic, true-to-life fictional suspense. Carrie lives in Idaho and travels with her husband, Rick, across the US and Canada, teaching courses in forensic art to law enforcement professionals. She has won numerous awards for her fine art and is the author/illustrator of numerous books on drawing and painting. CarrieStuartParks.com, Facebook: CarrieStuartParksAuthor, Twitter: @CarrieParks.

  • UPC 9781401690434
  • ISBN-101401690432
  • ISBN-139781401690434
  • Publish Date08/12/2014
  • PublisherThomas Nelson
  • Series A Gwen Marcey Novel
  • Format Softcover
  • LanguageEnglish
  • Weight (lbs)0.76 lb
  • Dimensions 8.38(h) x 5.4(w) x 1.0(d) inches
  • Pages384
  • Price $15.99

Reviews