Shopping Cart - $0.00

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Please note: Orders placed after 12:00 PM CST on 12/13 may not arrive before Christmas. Click here to see estimated Christmas order schedule.

Return to Previous Page

Ascension of Larks

Be the first to review this product

$15.99
Format: Paperback

Availability: In stock

Quick Overview:

This stunning women’s fiction debut is for fans of Jodi Picoult and JoJo Moyes—one woman’s journey to finding joy after tragedy and embracing the beauty of an unexpected life.
OR
FREE SHIPPING
 
 

“Winsome kids and family friends add depth and warmth to the well-developed cast of characters. Readers will eagerly await future offerings from this promising new author.”--Publishers Weekly, STARRED review

“Linden’s debut novel is a bittersweet tale of enduring friendship, family ties, and the complexities of love that will engage readers of thoughtful women’s fiction.”--Library Journal, STARRED review, Debut of the Month

When globetrotting photographer Magdalena Henry loses the only man she’s ever loved, she risks her stellar career to care for his widow and young children on a remote island in the Pacific Northwest.

Free-spirited and fiercely independent, Maggie adores her life of travel and adventure. But she has a secret. She can’t let go of her first and only love, renowned architect Marco Firelli, now married to her best friend Lena.

When Marco drowns in a kayaking accident, Maggie rushes to the Firelli family’s summer home on San Juan Island. Once there she discovers that Marco was hiding something that could destroy his family. As fragile, perfectionistic Lena slowly falls apart, Maggie tries to provide stability for Marco and Lena’s three young children.

When Maggie is offered a once-in-a-lifetime chance to compete in the world’s most prestigious photography competition, she thinks she’s found the answer to their problems. Then Lena makes a choice with unexpected and devastating consequences, forcing Maggie to grapple with an agonizing decision. Does she sacrifice the golden opportunity of her career or abandon the Firellis just when they need her the most?

Gradually the island begins to work its magic. A century-old ritual to beckon loved ones home offers hope in the midst of sorrow. And a guilt-ridden yet compelling stranger hiding on the island may offer Maggie a second chance at love, but only if she can relinquish the past and move forward to find joy in unexpected places.

Contributor(s) Rachel Linden
About the Contributor(s) Rachel Linden

 

 

Rachel Linden is a novelist and international aid worker whose adventures living and traveling in fifty countries around the world provide excellent grist for her stories. She holds an MA in Intercultural Studies from Wheaton College and a BA in Literature from Huntington University, and she studied creative writing at Oxford University during college. Currently, Rachel lives in beautiful Seattle, Washington with her husband and two young children. Rachel enjoys creating stories about hope and courage with a hint of romance and a touch of whimsy. 

 

 

 

ISBN-10 0718095731
ISBN-13 9780718095734
Release Date Jun 20, 2017
Weight (lbs) 0.6500
Height 8.30
Width 5.40
Length 336
Length Unit Pages
Publisher Thomas Nelson
Price $15.99
Format Paperback
Language English

Write Your Own Review

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register

You May also be interested in the following product(s):..

Copyright © 2017 HarperCollins Publishers. All Rights Reserved. | Privacy | Terms and Conditions

501 Nelson Place, Nashville TN 37214 | Phone: 800-834-7828