Shopping Cart - $0.00

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Return to Previous Page

The Allure of Gentleness

Defending the Faith in the Manner of Jesus

Be the first to review this product

Regular Price: $26.99

Special Price $18.89

Format: Hardcover

Availability: In stock

OR
FREE SHIPPING
 
 

When called upon to explain their faith, Christians do not always feel equipped to do so—particularly when some of the most difficult questions arise. In The Allure of Gentleness, esteemed teacher and author Dallas Willard not only assures us of the truth and reasonableness of the Christian faith, but also explores why reason and logic are not enough: to explain Jesus's message, we must also be like Jesus, characterized by love, humility, and gentleness.

Based on a series of talks and lectures on apologetics given by the late author and edited by his daughter, Becky Heatley, this book constitutes Dallas Willard's most thorough presentation on how to defend the Christian faith for the twenty-first century. This beautiful model of life, this allure of gentleness, Willard tells us, is the foundation for making the most compelling argument for Christ, one that will assure others that the Christian faith is not only true but the answer to our deepest desires and hopes.

“It was Willard’s habit to take an issue and cast it in a light that no one had ever thought of before; he does this here with key apologetical issues, and places apologetics against the backdrop of pastoral care. This is essential reading.” (JP Moreland, author of The God Question)

“As an adult I discovered Dallas Willard. Unfailingly gentle and respectful, he transformed the apologetics of my generation as many of us ‘laid down our swords and shields.’” (Eugene Peterson, translator of The Message)

“Dallas Willard was a true Master. Who else combined such profundity with such clarity and simplicity? Here, he addresses an issue that is both timely and urgent for Christian advocacy today. But it is also a genuine hallmark of his own gentle and humble character as a man and thinker.” (Os Guinness, author Fool's Talk: Recovering the Art of Christian Persuasion)

“Dallas Willard’s understanding of apologetics is revolutionary. It is at once more intellectually rigorous and yet more attainable and more humble and more tied to character than anything I have seen on the subject. What he describes is what Jesus actually did.” (John Ortberg, senior pastor of Menlo Park Presbyterian Church and author of Soul Keeping)

“Following in the tradition of C.S. Lewis, Willard advocates for truth, born on the wings of grace, and does so in the manner of a fellow pilgrim, keen to listen and to share.” (Stan Mattson, founder and director of the C. S. Lewis Foundation)

“Classic Willard: the gifted Christian philosopher answering hard questions—the questions so many people have about God, hell, the problem of evil, the nature of freedom, and the wonder of Jesus—in an accessible style and with a gentle spirit.” (Chris Hall, Director of Academic Spiritual Formation, Eastern University)

“Trust Dallas to give us apologetics for everyone in the manner of Jesus: desiring to serve not convince; discarding defensiveness and intellectual one-upping; respecting others as honest inquirers; answering questions we’ve secretly wondered about.” (Jan Johnson, author of Renovation of the Heart in Daily Practice and Abundant Simplicity

Contributor(s) Dallas Willard
About the Contributor(s) DALLAS WILLARD (1935-2013) Dr. Willard was a well-renowned, well-regarded Christian scholar and author. His book, The Divine Conspiracy, was selected as Christianity Today's Book of the Year for 1999. His other books include The Spirit of the Disciplines (1988) and Renovation of the Heart (2002). Dr. Willard displays a scholarly acumen and a pastor's heart, seeking to integrate philosophy, theology, and ethics with practical discipleship and Christian day-to-day living. He is also a popular speaker who has participated in a number of Veritas Forums. A professor's professor, Dr. Willard is interested in reaching out to skeptical college students and to their even-more skeptical professors. He has long been a professor of Philosophy at the University of Southern California, working in the field of logic and epistemology. Dr. Willard studied at William Jewell College, Tennessee Temple College, and Baylor University before earning a Ph.D. in philosophy from the University of Wisconsin.
ISBN-10 0062114085
ISBN-13 9780062114082
Release Date Feb 10, 2015
Weight (lbs) 0.5000
Height 8.2
Width 5.5
Length 208
Length Unit Pages
Publisher HarperOne
Price $26.99
Format Hardcover
Language English

Write Your Own Review

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register

You may also be interested in the following product(s)

Copyright © 2017 HarperCollins Publishers. All Rights Reserved. | Privacy | Terms and Conditions

501 Nelson Place, Nashville TN 37214 | Phone: 800-834-7828